Popular Posts

Wednesday, May 18, 2011

Introducing the Champions of European Leagues

Germany – Borussia Dortmund

The 2010–11 Bundesliga season, the 48th edition, started on the weekend of 21 August 2010 and ended on 14 May 2011. After each team contested in 34 matches, Borussia Dortmund dislodged defending champions Bayern Munich and were crowned the 2010/11 Bundesliga champions with two games to spare on 30 April 2011. Jürgen Klopp’s team amassed  75 points on their way to winning their seventh league title, and the first in nine years. Their topscorer was Lucas Barrios with 16 goals while Mario Gotze created most of their goals with 15 assists.

The Borussians also qualified for the 2011/12 UEFA Champions league where they will be joined by second-placed Bayer Leverkussen and record 22-time Bundesliga winners Bayern Munich.

Hannover 96 and FSV Mainz 05 finished fourth and fifth respectively and will compete in the Europa league while Eintracht Frankfurt and FC St. Pauli were relegated. Borussia Monchengladbach, who finished 16th, will face 3rd-placed Bundesliga 2 side VfL Bochum for a two-legged play-off to determine who will join promoted sides Hertha Berlin and FC Augsburg in the Bundesliga next season.

Bayern Munich’s Mario Gomez emerged the topscorer with 28 of the total 894 goals scored this season. The biggest win of the season was the 7-0 thrashing of Borussia Monchengladbach at the hands of VFB Stuttgart and the 8-1 mauling of FC St. Pauli by Bayern Munich.

The 2011–12 Fußball-Bundesliga, the 49th season, will commence on 5 August 2011.

And That's thesteifmastertake!!