Popular Posts

Thursday, May 8, 2014

Joachim Loew Names Germany’s 30-Man Provisional Squad for World Cup

German coach, Joachim Loew, has excluded Fiorentina forward Mario Gomez from his 30-man squad that will be cut down to 23 players who will  compete in the 2014 FIFA World Cup set for Brazil next month. 

Loew overlooked Gomez who has been suffering from injuries all season as he continued with his philosophy of giving youngsters a chance while also dropping in a few unknown faces in a squad that has only two out-and-out strikers. Manuel Neuer look set to be Die Mannschat’s first choice keeper and the Bayern Munich man will face competition from Borussia Dortmund’s Roman Weidenfeller and Hannover’s Ron-Robert Zieler.

The 30-man squad will be reduced to 26 and finally to 23 players who will compete at the World Cup. The final list must be submitted by June 2nd, 10 days before the competition kicks off in Brazil. 

Among the new faces in the 53-year-old’s squad include Schalke 04 teenage sensations Leon Goretzka and Max Meyer. Sampodiria defender Shkodran Mustafi and Freiburg’s Mathias Ginter also received their maiden call-ups. The squad is dominated by players from Bundesliga champions Bayern Munich and Borussia Dortmund who have 7 and 6 players respectively. English Premier League contributed four players into the squad with Serie A and La Liga the only other club competitions contributing to the German squad with one each.

German Provisional Squad

Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Roman Weidenfeller (Borussia Dortmund), Ron-Robert Zieler (Hanover 96)

Defenders: Jerome Boateng (Bayern Munich), Philipp Lahm (Bayern Munich), Kevin Grosskreutz (Borussia Dortmund), Erik Durm (Borussia Dortmund), Mats Hummels (Borussia Dortmund), Marcel Schmelzer (Borussia Dortmund), Benedikt Hoewedes (Schalke 04), Marcell Jansen (Hamburg SV), Per Mertesacker (Arsenal), Shkodran Mustafi (Sampdoria) 

Midfielders: Julian Draxler (Schalke 04), Max Meyer (Schalke 04), Leon Goretzka (Schalke 04), Matthias Ginter (Freiburg), Mario Goetze (Bayern Munich), Thomas Mueller (Bayern Munich), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Bayern Munich), Toni Kroos (Bayern Munich), Andre Hahn (Augsburg), Sami Khedira (Real Madrdi), Mesut Ozil (Arsenal), Lukas Podolski (Arsenal), Marco Reus (Borussia Dortmund), Andre Schuerrle (Chelsea), Lars Bender (Bayer Leverkusen)

Forwards: Miroslav Klose (Lazio), Kevin Volland (Hoffenheim)

And That's thesteifmastertake!!