Popular Posts

Monday, August 4, 2014

All Set for COPA Coca-Cola Nationals as Tana Boys, Mombasa Starlets Join Finalists' List

Tana Boys are the new COPA Coca-Cola Coast Provincial champions and will represent the region in this year’s national finals set to begin next week.

Tana emerged winners after trouncing Changamwe Youth 9-8 in post match penalty shoot outs in matches played at Mombasa Municipal Stadium. Delvan Laban’s industrious side qualified for the finals after dispatching South Coast outfit Mvita Youth 3-0 in the semis. Ignos Assa opened the scoring for Tana just five minutes into the game with Hillary Kessy’s second half brace assuring them of a slot in the finals.

Changamwe’s tiki taka football overwhelmed defending champions Malindi United who were anything but gracious in a 2-1 semifinal defeat. Said Nassir grabbed a brace for Changamwe whose brand of football made them crowd favorites as they overpowered the defending champions at the semifinals stage.

The results ensured Changamwe and Tana, the two most enterprising and entertaining sides clashed in the final. The game lived up to its billing with both teams showing intent of seizing the provincial title. It was Changamwe however who took the lead with 10 minutes on the clock only for Tana to equalize almost immediately through an Omar Bakari freekick. The same script was repeated after the breather, Tana taking the lead through Ignos Assa but Changamwe made it 2-2 just before full time.

The duo traded penalties with all the 22 players on the pitch stepping up for a spot kick but it was Tana keeper Delvan Laban who emerged the hero scoring his spot kick before saving Tana’s final one to help his team win 9-8 and qualify for the national finals.

The ladies’ title went to Mombasa Starlets who also needed post match penalties to dismiss Bright Starlets 3-2, Millicent Mahenjo saving two penalties for Mombasa.

Meanwhile at Moi Stadium Embu where the Eastern provincial finals were held, Tharaka Stars edged out Machakos Talent 5-4 on post match penalties to qualify for the nationals. The two teams could not find the back of the net in normal time with the game ending on a barren stalemate. Kirindara Girls took the girls' honours after outclassing Fun Starlets 2-0 in the final.

The four teams joined 12 other provincial winners who will gather in Nairobi from the 9th of August for the nationals. The draw for the preliminary rounds will be done tomorrow (Tuesday August 5th). There will be over 1.7 million shillings in contention during the August nationals.

And That's thesteifmastertake!!