Popular Posts

Wednesday, April 24, 2013

Former Harambee Stars International to Tackle Media Team in COPA Curtain Raiser

A host of former Harambee stars internationals will light up the COPA Coca-Cola tournament this Saturday as they take on Kenya Sports Journalists media team in a curtain raising match at City Stadium.

The former internationals led by team manager and one of Kenya’s most celebrated football heroes, Joe Kadenge, will take to the field against the media team in a match that former AFC Leopards and Gor Mahia defender, George Sunguti, has vowed they will win.

The match will act as a curtain raiser for the COPA 2013 edition which will kick off on the same day in all the Football Kenya Federation (FKF) branches across the country.

The ex internationals and media teams will be fully kitted by Coca-Cola with a full set of 16 jerseys, shorts and socks with the team manager and coach being given polo shirts. There will be a cash price of Kshs 20,000 for the winners and Kshs 15,000 for the match losers. The winning team will also receive a trophy and three balls with the losing team going home with a trophy and two balls.

In the lineup for the ex-internationals team will be Muhammad Abbas, former Leopards players Peter Dawo, Mike Awai, Reginald Asibwa, Tony Lidonde, Josephat Murila and Justus Muhati. Others are former Tusker players Sammy Sholei, Elly Adero and Henry Mutegu, Gor Mahia’s legendary duo Austin Oduor and Allan Thigo as well as Harambee Stars assistant coach James Nandwa.

Nandwa was part of the team that beat Kenya Sports Journalists 3-1 in the DSTV Cup curtain raiser in February this year. “We will show that media team how football is played,” vowed Sunguti who is the team’s organizing secretary and will captain them on Saturday.

The media team which plays under the umbrella name of Kenya Sports Journalists will comprise of print, electronic and online journalists including Eric Ochieng’ and Bismark Mutahi from the Standard, James Magayi and Francis Wadegu of The Star, blogger Steve ‘Steifmaster’ Ayoo of thesteifmastertake!, Michezo Afrika’s Timothy Olobulu and Amos Abuga, Gregory Mulemi from Radio Africa’s Kiss TV, Citizen TV’s Mike Okinyi, Fred ‘Tegemeo’ Arocho from Radio Jambo and Joseph Shegu. Others are Alex Isaboke from KBC, Elvince Joshua from Sportsnewsarena, Sammy Mwangi from Mediamax and Dennis Roger.

The media team will be led by Team Manager Fred Maingi while Chairman Robin Toskin is also expected to attend.

The 2013 edition of the COPA Coca-Cola tournament kicks off on Saturday April 27 with the official launch at City Stadium. Besides the media versus ex-internationals match, 7 other matches will on the cards at the stadium.

And That's thesteifmastertake!!