Popular Posts

Saturday, September 14, 2013

Zimbabwe are the 2013 COPA Champions

Zimbabwe are the 2013 COPA Coca-Cola international camp champions after thrashing Uganda 3-0 in the final played at the High Performance Center in Pretoria, South Africa.

The two teams edged out Zambia and Egypt in the semi finals, Uganda beating Egypt’s Pharos 6-5 on penalties while Zimbabwe dethroned Zambia 1-0 to set up the final date.

In a half of limited chances, a successfully converted penalty by Zimbabwe’s Bukosi Sibanda saw the Young Warriors take a 1-0 lead. Sibanda slotted in the opener just a minute before the interval after Uganda’s Godfrey Mbazira’s was adjudged to have handled in the box.

The Young Warriors who edged out Cranes 1-0 when the two teams clashed in the group stages doubled their lead immediately after the restart, Simbarashe Tandi tapping in from close range after Cranes keeper Tumusiime Aloysius failed spilled the ball.

Aloysius got injured in the process and was replaced by Hassan Matovu who would then conceded Uganda’s third goal with two minutes to full time as the Zims ran out 3-0 winners.

The 2013 champions broke into song and dance following the victory. “I am grateful to God not only for the win but that we made it this far. This victory we dedicate it to the Zimbabwean people and to all the people behind this tournament,” said an elated Zimbabwe coach Never Mhandu.

“This is the best feeling I have had for a long time. We fought as a team through the tough matches and this victory is a reward to every sweat we broke out in the field,” said Tatendae Tumba who was named the player of the tournament.

Meanwhile the All-Star team was also named after the games ended. The team included two goalkeepers, 5 defenders, 6 midfielders and 3 strikers. Egypt had the most number of players which included goalkeeper Mahmoud Gael, defender Nagy Abdelmorin, midfielder Mohamed Adelsamie and forward Taher Heshem followed by champions Zimbabwe who had goalkeeper Tatenda Munditi, midfielder Learnmore Muyambo and forward Tatendae Tumba.

Tanzania’s Nasson Edward and Badru Othman as well as Uganda duo Godfrey Mbazira and Allan Khainja also made it to the list. Others included Algeria’s Merreli Islam, Kenya’s Musa Masika, John Mohai Mohai who played for Africa United, Zambia’s Febian Chali and Bienvenu Yala who played for the Dream Team.

The All-Star team will play against a Mamelodi Sundowns side tomorrow Sunday at the High Performance Camp in Pretoria, South Africa.

And That's thesteifmastertake!!