Popular Posts

Friday, May 15, 2015

Frankfurt Win UEFA Women’s Champions League

Bayern Munich’s defeat to Barcelona may have ended their hopes of clinching the UEFA Champions League but the German nation was celebrating the title which was delivered by a different team.

Frankfurt won the women’s version of Europe’s elite competition Thursday night beating French side Paris Saint Germain 2-1 in the UEFA Champions League women’s final played at Friedrich-Ludwig-Jahn-Sportpark stadium in Berlin, Germany.

Frankfurt and PSG clashed in the final having outclassed their semi final opponents. The Germans were too much class above their semi final opponents, Norwegian outfit Brondby who they thrashed 6-0 and 7-0 for a 13-0 aggregate score. PSG on the other hand shocked two-time defending Champions Wolfsburg who they beat 2-0 and although they lost 1-2 away, they prevailed 3-2 on aggregate.

PSG who finished runners-up to Lyon in the French league were making their first appearance in the final while Frankfurt were featuring for a record sixth time, a gulf that would eventually show.

After a barren half an hour thanks to the efforts of PSG’s Polish keeper Katarzyna Kiedrzynek, Frankfurt assumed the lead in the 32nd minute, German forward Celia Sasic heading in a cross from Kerstin Garefrekes, her 14th goal of the season which equaled the competition’s record.

Frankfurt’s lead however lasted for only 8 minutes as PSG found the equalizer, Marie-Laure Delie heading in for a 1-1 stalemate at half time.

Kiedrzynek had another blinding performance after the interval pulling stops from all directions as the Germans looked to retake the lead. However, with extra time looking inevitable, it was Frankfurt who found something special, Mandy Islacker turning in a half volley in added time to get them past the stubborn Ligue 1 runners-up.

With German Chancellor Angela Merkel among the watching audience, Frankfurt were crowned the 2014-15 UEFA Women’s Champions League winners for a record fourth time having already triumphed in 2002, 2006 and 2008.

Colin Bell’s Frankfurt are now the most decorated European team ahead of fellow Germans Turbine Potsdam and Wolfsburg, Swedish outfit Umea and French champions Lyon.

And That's thesteifmastertake!!